2014 Academic Technology Institute

image. Nigel Malcolm and Julio DelSesto - ATI 2013
Nigel Malcolm and Julio DelSesto – ATI ’13

Ten KSC faculty have the opportunity to attend the USNH Academic Technology Institute this summer, May 27-30 (Tuesday, Noon – Friday, Noon). It will be hosted by the University of New Hampshire in Durham.  If you are interested in attending, please apply here: http://goo.gl/6RW4W2 Applications are being accepted now through March 7th.

The theme for this year’s event is “Tools you can use: Teaching and learning with technology” and the speaker will be Cable Green of Creative Commons:

Participants will leave with a renewed inspiration to address their courses with the insights gleaned from Institute sessions, including topics such as technology as the teacher’s tool (not the teacher’s taskmaster), assignment design, (rich media) assessment strategies, and related technological issues pertinent to teaching and learning in higher education.

ATI participant Debbie Black (Education) had this to say about her experience:

“I am the most unlikely person to be writing this statement since I resist technology on so many levels. However, the Academic Technology Institute that I attended last summer broadened my thinking about ways that I can use technology as a tool to capture student learning. I now use Coaches Eye, Educreations, Google Docs and Pages on a regular basis in my work. I am teaching my Methods II students how to use this technology as well as elementary-aged students and their teachers. Currently I have three co-investigation science projects going on between a school in Cheshire County and three schools in the North Country. We are all using these technologies.”

Keene State ATI alumni:

2013 (host PSU)
Debbie Black, Chris Burke, Karen Cangialosi, Julio DelSesto, Fitni Destani, Mike Goudzwaard, Amanda Guthorn, Judy Lister, Nigel Malcolm, Peggy Walsh.

2012 (host KSC)
Elizabeth Dolinger, Lisa Hix, Darrell Hucks, Craig Lindsay, Ted Mann, Niall Moran, Tanya Sturtz, Craig Sylvern, Debra White-Stanley, Susan Whittemore.

2011 (host GSC)
Leigh Corrette, Jen Ditkoff, Bill Fleeger, Dick Jardine, Kathy Johnson, John Lund, Allyson Mount, Celine Perron, Nancy Ritchie, Barbara Ware.

If you have questions contact Jenny Darrow or Jeff Timmer who are members of the USNH Academic Technology Steering Committee.

ATI is funded by the USNH Long Range Technology Plan.